Rabbits Of Unusal Size?

22 Jun

Buttercup: “Westley, what about the R.O.U.S.’s?”

Westley: “Rodents Of Unusual Size? I don’t think they exist.”

~ The Princess Bride

Every time we’ve taken the highway north I’ve been fascinated by these animal advisory signs.

R.O.U.S. sign

Either the rabbits here are a LOT bigger than the ones we have back home or someone has seriously overestimated the damage a rabbit could do to a car.

I really can’t think of a rabbit vs car scenario where the car would come off second best.

Whenever we pass these signs I always joke with my host mum that we’ll have to keep a careful eye out for the gigantic rabbits. They could be dangerous.

Never mind the cows, horses, donkeys and dogs we’ve regularly seen (and slammed on the breaks for) on our highway travels; it’s the oversized rabbits you really need to worry about!

2 Responses to “Rabbits Of Unusal Size?”

  1. Erin Elizabeth June 22, 2013 at 9:26 am #

    Just wanted to share my hiliarious Ecuadorian adventure with a fellow traveller. Hope you enjoy mine as much as I have enjoyed yours.
    http://www.atruetalltale.wordpress.com

    • honduranhiatus June 22, 2013 at 12:35 pm #

      Thanks. Looking forward to reading more about your experiences. I’ll be visiting Atacames to visit my sponsor child in a few weeks so I’ll see a little bit of your area of the world.

Talk to me!

