It’s belly puzzling

10 May

“If I eat a huge meal and I can get the girl to rub my belly, I think that’s about as romantic as I can think of.”

~ Ryan Goslin

Rubbing the belly of a Laughing Buddha statue is meant to bring good luck and good fortune.

I’m not sure what rubbing the belly of a sweaty and overweight Honduran man would bring, but if I wanted to do so I would have plenty of opportunities.

There is a phenomenon here in Honduras no one has been able to adequately explain to me. I have lost count the number of men I have seen in the streets with their t-shirts pulled up to their armpits, bellies proudly on display.

The most common pose is slouched, leaning against a wall, with one hand lightly rubbing the exposed belly.

If they were Ryan Gosling lookalikes I could probably understand this as a bit of masculine peacocking. However it’s rarely a six pack that’s being proudly revealed for all to see. These are big, bulging, occasionally hairy, bellies.

I’ve asked many people, why this is done? And apart from, “it’s probably because they’re hot,” I haven’t been given a satisfying explanation.

I would have thought that if it was too hot to wear a shirt, you’d take it all the way off. Not just hike it upwards to display your belly.

I’m tempted to give it a go myself, just to see if there’s something I’m missing. Maybe there’s no greater feeling than a cool breeze on your warm belly?

But recent events have led me to feel a little self-conscious, so for now I’m leaving belly-flashing to the pros.

Buddha_Beipu

I would have loved to include a real life photo in this post for illustrative purposes, but it’s hard to snap of pic of a man’s belly in a discrete manner!

9 Responses to “It’s belly puzzling”

  1. paul melling May 10, 2013 at 10:03 am #

    mmm thinking of moving to Honduras now

  2. Nicholas Rogers May 10, 2013 at 11:54 am #

    Unfortunately I seem to have picked up this strange habit without even realising it, giving me all sorts of funny looks, which are sometimes a bit flirty. I am no Ryan Gosling, but it seems to work on some Catrachas. I need to take a long hard look at myself!

    • honduranhiatus May 10, 2013 at 12:18 pm #

      But can you explain why you do it? Although if you picked up the habit without realising it, maybe all the catrachos are doing it subconciously too…

      • Nicholas Rogers May 10, 2013 at 12:37 pm #

        I don’t know why at all. Maybe it’s to nurse the baleadas in my gut! or Salva Vida! Or both!

  3. MB May 11, 2013 at 2:28 am #

    You pick the most obscure things to write about Em. That said, I must try the belly-rub next time I’m bored at work. Should impress my colleagues no-end!

    • honduranhiatus May 11, 2013 at 7:00 am #

      Odd it may be, but I’m trying to document all my thoughts on this blog. Belly-flashing happens often enough that I find myself puzzling over the phenomenon on a weekly basis, sometimes more, so into the blog it goes!

      You can’t choose what you’re inspired by, it chooses you. 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. More of crazy Honduras | A year volunteering! - June 5, 2013

    […] Men’s tummies – men here, who have quite sizeable bellies, seem to think it’s nice to lift their tops up and rest their hands on their bellies. It’s not nice, in fact it’s quite icky… read this if you want to know more about the bellies of Honduras – https://honduranhiatus.wordpress.com/2013/05/10/its-belly-puzzling/ […]

  2. ¡Buen provecho! | Honduran hiatus - June 12, 2013

    […] is a nice, friendly custom after all. And one that’s more understandable than belly flashing.  […]

Talk to me!

