That one cut me deep, bro

8 May

“The weight comes off, you know? If you stop with the bread and the pie, it really does. It really works.”

~ Philip Seymour Hoffman

A male colleague asked me this afternoon if I was pregnant.

Ouch.

I don’t know if he or I was more embarrassed after I blurted out a startled, “Me? NO!”

Gentlemen, let me give you a hot tip: unless a lady is giving birth right in front of you, it is never OK to ask her if she’s pregnant.

My colleague’s faux pas was both incredibly awkward and excruciatingly mortifying, but it also made me realise it’s time to face the truth.

Despite my good intentions, the stairs I use every day, and the gym I go to a couple of times a week, what affects my weight the most is my diet.

And I have been eating far too many chilenas, tortillas and other assorted carbs and far too few vegetables.

I haven’t been weighing myself, but when I arrived here all my pants were loose. My pants still fit me but now they’re starting to get tight. Uncomfortably tight. Apparently, ‘you-look-pregnant’ tight.

So it’s time to get disciplined and follow my basic ‘healthy eating’ principles again. This entails:

  • boosting the amount of vegetables I eat
  • increasing my protein intake
  • drinking a truckload of water
  • controlling the size of my portions, and
  • monitoring and limiting (but not eliminating) less healthy foods, particularly anything that contains sugar.

Saying goodbye to my beloved chilenas was hard, but I successfully met that challenge.

This gives me some hope I’ll be able to get back on the wagon, and start looking like less of a wagon wheel.

*sigh*

4 Responses to “That one cut me deep, bro”

  1. MB May 9, 2013 at 1:44 am #

    Emmy – Such a good post and one that proves you can do what’s required, so don’t panic just yet. It sneaks up on you, and then bites HARD! Never mind though, as you will sweat off the excess on the rides in Disney World. I also hear they have lots of healthy food there that you should avoid! Good luck girl. Much love.

    • honduranhiatus May 9, 2013 at 8:45 am #

      Thanks for the words of encouragement. I’ve read a few articles that have said it is actually possible to go to Disney and eat healthily so hopefully it won’t cause to much of a speed bump on my road to looser pants. 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. It’s belly puzzling | Honduran hiatus - May 10, 2013

    […] recent events have led me to feel a little self-conscious, so for now I’m leaving belly-flashing to the […]

  2. A pre-emptive strike: Final verdict | Honduran hiatus - June 27, 2013

    […] as much as being asked if I was pregnant (who does that?) but it’s never nice to be reminded you’ve porked […]

Talk to me!

