Award-me-nots and marigolds

6 May

“The reward of a thing well done is having done it.”

~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

As soon as you start exploring the WordPress world, you’re likely to stumble across one of the ubiquitous blogger awards. Think of a positive adjective and add the words ‘blogger award’ to it and you’ll almost certainly find it already exists. You’ll probably be nominated for it tomorrow.

From the obvious Very Inspiring Blogger, Beautiful Blogger, and Versatile Blogger awards, to the more obscure Liebster and Dragon’s Loyalty awards these ‘blogger to blogger’ awards are continuously circulating throughout the blogosphere.

And like an antibiotic resistant strain of bacteria that just won’t die, they seem to be multiplying. The more blogs you read the more blogger awards you’ll find.

I’ve been blogging for less than a year and even I’ve been nominated for one or two. And while I don’t want to sound ungrateful, well… anyone who has nominated me and is easily offended should stop reading here!

The way I see it, these awards are the blogging equivalent of chain letters. Remember those? Did you love receiving them and happily made your 10 or 100 copies and sent them on?

No?

Neither did I.

I threw any chain letters I received in the bin. Even the ones that had been circulating since 1954 and were about to go in the Guinness Book of World Records unless I broke the chain.

When the chain letter turned into the chain email, my immediate response was to hit delete. Even if deleting the email would supposedly give me bad luck for seven years, make me financially insolvent and suck the joy out of my every waking moment.

When the chain email turned into the chain Facebook status update, I starting clicking ‘hide’ every time I saw yet another surgeon that wasn’t going to operate on poor little Amy unless they got 50,000 likes.

And when I started blogging and discovered blogger awards, I wasn’t hoodwinked by the flattery of being nominated. These awards are simply chain mail version 4.0.

Most of the awards ask you to nominate five or seven or, if you’re really unlucky, 15 other bloggers to spread the love (aka continue the chain). They also ask you to share the same number of facts about yourself. You get given a jpeg logo to place on your blog too. Something akin to this one:

Award

The Fantabulous, Super-delicious, Really Ridiculously Good Looking, Umlauttastic, Hyperboleriffic, Peerless Blogger Award

So in keeping with the theme, here are my Top five reasons why you shouldn’t pass on a blogger award:

  1. Every blogger award politely ignored brings us one step closer to breaking the chain. Contrary to popular belief chain mail breakers are not destined to die in a horrid fiery death, but are showered with good will and good fortune wherever they go.
  2. You won’t have to spend hours crafting the perfect ‘seven facts about you’ that make you sound witty and wise and hip and unique.
  3. Less blogger award posts = more original content = more vibrant blogosphere = happier readers.
  4. You can use the time you would have spent crafting nominations for your favourite bloggers to interact with them on their blogs instead. Everyone loves a thoughtful comment; no one likes being given homework.
  5. When you catch an infectious disease, the polite thing to do is seek treatment, not deliberately try to infect other people.

Finally, to those who have nominated me for an award in the past: I do appreciate the thought and the good intentions, but chain mail awards just aren’t my cup of tea. Still friends? 🙂

What do you think? Harmless feel good fun or a scourge to be destroyed?

6 Responses to “Award-me-nots and marigolds”

  1. paul melling May 6, 2013 at 7:22 am #

    Such cynicism in one so young?!?!?!?

    • honduranhiatus May 6, 2013 at 7:33 am #

      I had my ‘grumpy old lady’ act perfected at age 25. 😛

  2. Rosemarie May 6, 2013 at 11:10 am #

    I have been nominated for two and my responses have been sitting in my Draft folder for a couple of months. I have been sitting on the fence about finally completing them. They ARE like chain letters. However, I do appreciate being nominated because someone likes my blog. I have seen “Award Free Blog” logos on some blogs.

    • honduranhiatus May 6, 2013 at 11:17 am #

      I’ve had “draft responses to awards” on my ‘to do’ list for weeks. I finally set aside an hour to write them this weekend, and this post is what came out instead! 🙂

      And I do agree that it’s nice to know people like your blog.

      Oooh, I want one of those logos!

      • Rosemarie May 6, 2013 at 12:55 pm #

        I don’t know how to send one to you.

      • honduranhiatus May 6, 2013 at 1:05 pm #

        That’s ok, I’m sure I’ll cope without one. 🙂

Talk to me!

