When it rains, it pours

4 May

“Thunder is good, thunder is impressive; but it is lightning that does the work.”

~ Mark Twain

Over the last few weeks whenever I’ve spoken* to my host-mum about the hot weather, she’s told me that, without question, it will rain on the third of May.

*Ok, ‘whinged’ would be a more accurate term.

I have to admit that I was a little sceptical. It seemed like a very specific forecast when we were still weeks away from the date.

“Emma,” she assured me, “if it doesn’t rain on the third of May it means the world is ending.”

“It’s rained on the third of May every third of May for my entire life.”

It’s hard to argue with those sorts of statistics, but I have to admit I still wasn’t entirely convinced. More fool me.

On Thursday night (2 May) we arrived home just before 10pm. After a hot day the skies had clouded over. In the distance we could see flashes of lightening and we could hear the low rumble of thunder.

I joked that it looked like the weather was getting ready to fulfil the 3 May prophesy. My host-mum agreed, saying that as soon as it’s one minute past midnight it was going to pour.

We didn’t need to wait that long. At about 10.30pm one of the biggest electrical storms I have ever experienced began in earnest. It was incredible.

As I cowered under my blanket I wondered if the fact that Tegucigalpa was in a valley made the thunder louder due to some sort of amphitheatre effect caused by the surrounding mountains. When yet another huge simultaneous thunder-lightening combo cracked directly over my head I decided that this wasn’t the case.

It was just one big, bad-ass, mean, mofo of a storm.

It raged for hours. After about 20 minutes we lost power so I was able to ‘enjoy’ the rather frightening lightening show while sitting in the dark. I didn’t have the amazing views shown in the below photo, but it was quite the show nonetheless.

Image courtesy of Diario El Heraldo (David Cediel)

Image courtesy of Diario El Heraldo (David Cediel).

At one stage it seemed like the storm had passed, however an hour or two later it started up again, although this time, thankfully, not right over the house.

The next morning my host-mum had left for work before I got up. I sent her the following text:

Last night, I wanted to send you this message: Ok, I believe you. It always rains on the third of May. You can make it stop now!

This was her cheeky response:

Yes, I can see that. haha… I also wanted to scare you a little…that’s why as well as rain I sent lightening and sparks

She later also explained to me that 3 May is called El dia de las cruces (the day of the crosses). People decorate wooden crosses with flowers and coloured crepe paper to welcome and celebrate the beginning of the rainy season. And as we now know, it always rains on the third of May!

Image courtesy of Diario El Heraldo

Image courtesy of Diario El Heraldo

When Tegucigalpa woke on 3 May the workings of the storm were evident all across the city. There were blackouts, fallen fences and billboards, roads covered in mud and debris, 45 houses flooded, three homes and four tenements destroyed and two people missing. Jeepers!

I had wanted it to rain, but this wasn’t quite what I had in mind. I guess it just goes to show that you need to be careful what you wish for.

And that you should listen to your host-mum; she’s always right!

5 Responses to “When it rains, it pours”

  1. paul melling May 4, 2013 at 9:31 am #

    May the 4th be with you. Star Wars greeting

  2. chris dolahenty May 5, 2013 at 6:08 am #

    WOW what an amazing picture. How long does the wet season last? Does it finish on a set date? Lol Take care.

    • honduranhiatus May 5, 2013 at 10:22 am #

      No set date for the end of the wet season as far as I’m aware. 🙂 The wet season runs from May through to October/November so there’ll be plenty of rain for the rest of my trip, but I’m hoping that the storms will be slightly smaller!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. One year later… | Honduran hiatus - June 11, 2013

    […] through the ‘Honduran hurl’ …marveled at rugs made of sawdust …experienced a wild and crazy electrical storm …stomped around a coffee plantation in the rain …and spent many, many hours lazing in my […]

Talk to me!

