All About Me Day: Mexicatracho style

24 Apr

“All the world is birthday cake, so take a piece, but not too much.”

~ George Harrison

Those who know me well would know I tend to get a little over-excited by my birthday. Not content with just one day of festivities, I like to extend the celebrations out to at least 72 hours, if not a full birthday week.

In true form, I started my celebrations early on Friday by enjoying a couple of (what will hopefully be my last) chilenas de leche. If a girl can’t enjoy a biscuit or two on her Birthday Eve, when can she?

Saturday was my actual All About Me Day, as I like to call it. My host-mum and her friend Claudia took me out to breakfast at Los Cebollines, a Mexican restaurant, where I happily munched on huevos divorciados. The Mexican-themed birthday celebrations continued throughout the weekend.

Upon reflection, having a Mexican-themed birthday in Honduras is probably a little odd, but we had a lot of fun with it. As the Leslie Gore song goes, “It’s my party and I’ll incorporate Mexican stereotypes if I want to.”

Well, they might not be the exact lyrics, but the sentiment is there.

Saturday afternoon we headed up to the house in Valle de Angeles where my party was to be held. Unfortunately the 40 minutes of hilly, winding roads did not treat my cake kindly, and the top half tried to separate itself from the bottom.

Cake

Lopsided or not though, I think you will all have to admit it was a pretty awesome birthday cake. Decorated with a sombrero, margarita glasses, cacti and chillies it was a sight to behold and yummy to boot. My host-mum had picked it out for me and it was a great surprise.

Continuing the Mexican theme we ate nachos and tacos for dinner and then next up it was time to destroy the piñata. This was a lot of fun. I think I might need to incorporate a piñata into all my future birthday celebrations.

Celebrate your birthday and relieve stress at the same time!

Celebrate your birthday and relieve stress at the same time!

Later on in the evening the karaoke machine was brought out. This is where things could have gotten screechingly and ear-piercingly ugly, but I played my ‘it’s-my-birthday-so-what-I-say-goes’ card and avoided humiliating myself in front of my extended Honduran host-family. (Party pooper, I know.)

On Sunday morning I forwent my post-birthday sleep-in and actually got up at 6.30am so I could go and do some volunteer work with TECHO, a NGO I’ve decided to help out in my spare time. I’ll write a separate post on my experience with TECHO later.

In addition to my fun-filled party, my birthday present from my host-mum included tickets to see Colombian crooner, Juanes, live in concert. When I read he was coming to Tegus on my birthday weekend, it felt like a sign. He’s coming to town especially to sing for me!

Juanes

The concert was excellent. I was so excited to see Juanes perform live. He had released his stick-in-your-head single La camisa negra a couple of months before I arrived in Mexico for my university exchange. That song was played everywhere.

 

His Mi Sangre album was the first CD I bought over there, and every time I listen to it, it brings back fond memories of my time in Mexico.

Back at work on Monday and the birthday celebrations continued. Four of my workmates kindly took me out to lunch to Matambritas, a local hamburger chain. There I ate a Chipotle Chuck Norris burger, because I’m that tough.

Chipotle Chuck Norris

Other Matambritas burger names include the Frankenburger and the Big Kahuna. I’m planning on trying all of them at least once before I go. Solely because it’s important to support local businesses. 😉

All in all it was a most excellent birthday. I missed everyone back home of course, but I was inundated with emails and messages wishing me well so I definitely felt loved.

4 Responses to “All About Me Day: Mexicatracho style”

  1. Aic3la April 30, 2013 at 8:45 am #

    Ahhhhh Happy Belated birthday! Glad to see your having fun out there! If all goes well I will be coming out there next year. Keep up the good work and enjoy the food!! Heard it’s uber yummy!! Take care 😀

    • honduranhiatus April 30, 2013 at 11:06 am #

      Thanks! 🙂 Pleased to hear that your Honduran dreams will hopefully be coming true next year. It’s a facinating country.

      And yes, the food is super yummy. Too yummy. I need to go on a diet!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Un techo para mi país | Honduran hiatus - May 9, 2013

    […] mentioned earlier, I forwent my post-birthday party sleep-in to volunteer with TECHO. About 30 young Hondurans and […]

  2. One year later… | Honduran hiatus - June 11, 2013

    […] to another country for the love of seafood soup …been bogged in an airboat …celebrated my birthday Mexicatracho style …suffered through the ‘Honduran hurl’ …marveled at rugs made of […]

Talk to me!

