Alfajores—I want some mores

23 Apr

“If cookies be the food of love…munch on.”

~ Dame Judi Dench

Dear blog, I think I’m in love.

They say that you find love in the most unexpected places. In my case I found my new love in Espresso Americano, a Honduran chain of coffee kiosks.

The coffee here in Honduras is great, but the baristas are all pretty ordinary. Black coffee generally fine but no one seems to know how to make a good cappuccino or flat white.

I can’t survive without my morning coffee fix though, so I persist in patronising Espresso Americano all the same.

It was there that I fell in love with my new favourite snack, the ‘chilena de leche’. Also known as ‘alfajores’, they are a shortbread biscuit sandwich filled with dulce de leche.

I have developed a very unhealthy obsession for these sugary, buttery biscuits of awesome.

chilena de leche

What started as a once-off purchase with my morning coffee a few weeks ago has rapidly turned into a daily, sometimes twice-daily habit. This does not help my plan to maintain a healthy weight.

Last week I decided enough was enough and I was going to cut chilenas from my diet cold turkey. However seeing as it was my Birthday Eve, I elected to have one last chilena treat.

My one last chilena then turned into two last chilenas, but I did come to my senses before purchasing a third ‘last’ chilena. Tempting though it was.

It’s been a brief but intense love affair. I know that removing alfajores from my life is the right course of action, but that doesn’t make it hurt any less.

As I sipped my poorly made latte this morning without an accompanying chilena, I felt bereft. How can something that feels so good be so wrong, I wondered.

But the decision has been made, and there’s no going back. Relationships are never the same after a break-up.

I’ll miss you chilena de leche. You and your sweet, tantalising fragrance. Your flirtatious dusting of icing sugar. Your melt-in-your mouth texture.

*sigh*

It’s going to be a tough few weeks while I adjust. But it’s for the best.

 

(I’ve been a little bit naughty and tracked down a recipe online so that if I get a craving back home in Oz I’ll be able to make them myself. If you’d like to try your hand at making them too, you can find the recipe at whats4eats.)

7 Responses to “Alfajores—I want some mores”

  1. Saunved May 29, 2013 at 5:29 am #

    It’s been many days since I came to your blog. I am extremely sorry for that! I was really engaged in some other things and well…I know I’ve been a very bad follower!
    Appetizing post, by the way! 😀

    • honduranhiatus May 29, 2013 at 10:43 am #

      There’s no such thing as a bad follower! Any follower (except for spam bots) is a good follower in my books. I’m always impressed how you make the time to interact on so many other blogs. I need to learn how to do the same.

      • Saunved May 29, 2013 at 11:06 am #

        You are a great writer, mind you!
        I don’t know how I interact on other blogs myself, but well…it just happens! 😀

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. All About Me Day: Mexicatracho style | Honduran hiatus - April 24, 2013

    […] true form, I started my celebrations early by enjoying a couple of (what will hopefully be my last) chilenas de leche. If a girl can’t enjoy a biscuit or two on her Birthday Eve, when can […]

  2. That one cut me deep, bro | Honduran hiatus - May 8, 2013

    […] goodbye to my beloved chilenas was hard, but I successfully met that […]

  3. Better latte than never | Honduran hiatus - June 10, 2013

    […] whinged about the poor quality of cappuccinos etc. here in Honduras before. Honduran coffee itself, on the whole, is excellent. If you drink your coffee black, you’ll be as […]

  4. A pre-emptive strike: Final verdict | Honduran hiatus - June 27, 2013

    […] Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to find some chilenas de leche. Now that I’ve reached my final week in Honduras, I’ve decided to remove my self-imposed ban. […]

Talk to me!

