Here, there and everywhere

19 Apr

“To my mind, the greatest reward and luxury of travel is to be able to experience everyday things as if for the first time, to be in a position in which almost nothing is so familiar it is taken for granted.”

~ Bill Bryson

I’ve settled into a nice routine here in Honduras. Weekdays I work at UNICEF from 8:00am to 4:30pm and then in the afternoon I either:

  • visit the gym (I’m trying to do this more often than not);
  • go to the mall (mostly to window shop and drink coffee); or
  • head home to read, watch How I Met Your Mother* on Netflix, or just chill out and relax.

*How have I only just now discovered this awesome TV show?

It’s a pretty cruisey lifestyle during the week, which is probably a good thing, as on the weekends it’s generally all go, go, go. My host-mum doesn’t like to hang around the house doing nothing and loves going on day trips or weekend excursions. This means she’s been doing a brilliant job of showing me the country.

This weekend we not only celebrate the birthday of a very important person (hint, hint) but we also mark my two-month anniversary here in Honduras. I can’t believe how quickly the time is flying by. Thanks to my host-mum though, I’ve managed to see a lot in that short space of time.

So far I’ve travelled to Valle de Angeles (multiple times), Santa Lucia, Tela (twice), San Pedro Sula, Lago de Yojoa, Comayagua (twice), Siguatepeque, San Lorenzo, El Hatillo, La Tigra and even to Santa Rosa de Lima in El Salvador for the infamous soup-inspired border crossing.

I’ve loved getting out and about and traversing this fascinating country. Tegucigalpa can be a little underwhelming so having a weekend away can be a very welcome break. I particularly enjoy visiting towns where you can walk freely on the streets and not constantly worry about security.

Looks pretty safe from a distance...

Looks pretty safe from a distance…

My next AFS camp will be held at Copán Ruinas, 25-28 April. I can’t wait to explore the ancient Mayan ruins of Copán. They’re meant to be impressive and are considered one of Honduras’ tourism highlights.

It will also be nice to see how the other AFS participants are doing. Hopefully they’ve been having just as much fun as I have. I’m really glad I decided to turn this particular travel dream of mine into a reality. Almost halfway through and there are no regrets, just lots of great experiences and happy memories.

Tomorrow I’ll be heading to Valle de Angeles again. My whole extended host-family will be gathering to help me celebrate my All About Me Day (aka birthday). My host-mum and her friends have decided the party theme will be ¡Tequila!

I’m already dreading Sunday morning’s headache.

7 Responses to “Here, there and everywhere”

  1. MB April 20, 2013 at 2:16 am #

    A birthday headache so far from where you were born has got to be a good thing. Happy Birthday Em. Enjoy the day. XXX

    • honduranhiatus April 20, 2013 at 9:23 am #

      Very true. 🙂 It’s my third b’day OS. If my other two were any indication, there is lots of good fun ahead! xo

  2. chris dolahenty April 20, 2013 at 4:25 am #

    Wishing you a very happy birthday Emma. 21 again? Sounds like you are having a great time. Be safe. xo

    • honduranhiatus April 20, 2013 at 9:20 am #

      Thanks for the birthday wishes. I think it’s going to be a very fun-filled day. xo

  3. Saunved April 23, 2013 at 5:52 am #

    So sorry for the late comment. Happy Birthday to you and hope you had fun! 😀

    • honduranhiatus April 23, 2013 at 1:27 pm #

      Thanks. I had a brilliant weekend. A post about all my birthday shenanigans will be coming soon. 😉

      • Saunved April 23, 2013 at 1:49 pm #

        Oh yes! Waiting for them! 😀

Talk to me!

