Dreary Tegus, colourful hammocks and mighty Olimpia

17 Apr

“Miscellaneous is always the largest category.”
~ Joel Rosenberg

Hi folks. It’s a mix bagged of miscellaneous musings today.

Dreary Tegus

I laughed out loud when I saw the weather forecast on my phone yesterday.

DrearyTegus

Dreary. I’ve never seen that descriptor come up before.

It is accurate though as it’s fairly dull here at the moment. Smoke from all the incessant forest fires is blanketing the city. And it’s not just Tegus. For the whole 5-hour drive up to Tela last weekend there was no end to the opaque haze.

I read a news article the other day that said the smoke is unlikely to dissipate until the rains start. We’re expecting the rains to come in the first week in May. Hopefully they will clear the air and make things a bit more pleasant.

Colourful hammocks

It may cost five times as much to mail a hammock home as it will to purchase one, but I’ve decided that I cannot leave Honduras without a hammock of my own. Here’s a snap I took of a hammock stall by the side of the highway on our trip down to San Lorenzo.

Colourful hammocks

I love the colours! They’re so bright and cheerful. I don’t know what sort of apartment or house I’ll rent when I get back to Australia, but it’s definitely going to need room for a hammock.

The hammocks made with a wooden pole at each end are bulkier, but much more comfortable. So despite the increase in postage I think this is the sort I will buy. I’ve spent many hours on the hammock at our house in Valle de Angeles. And I can foresee spending many more there in the coming months. Bliss.

Mighty Olimpia

I’ve now taken the plunge and picked a Honduran football team to cheer for. Although I didn’t really have much choice in the matter.

Lombardo, the 15-year-old son of the lady my host-family employs to look after my host-grandparents in the evening, asked me the other day if I had football team. When I told him I didn’t have one yet he promptly gifted me his Olimpia chain.

Olimpia

He’s such a sweet and generous kid. After discovering that I can read in Spanish, as well as speak it, he’s also loaned me his favourite book, Querido Yo. I’ll have to write up a book review once I finish it.

I double checked with Lombardo to make sure he really wanted to give me the necklace, and he told me he had a second one at home and that if I was going to cheer for a team it had to be Olimpia.

It turns out they’re the oldest team in Honduras (they celebrated their 100th anniversary last year) as well as the (disputably) most popular.

My new necklace has caused a little bit of controversy in the office though. I’ve now discovered that my boss is an unwavering Motagua fan—Olimpia’s biggest rival. Oops.

It’s always good to have a bit of team diversity though, right?

6 Responses to “Dreary Tegus, colourful hammocks and mighty Olimpia”

  1. Saunved April 17, 2013 at 12:48 pm #

    Hahaha…those hammocks are really colorful! I hope you are happy with the team you are cheering though! Nice post…keep them coming! 😀

    • honduranhiatus April 17, 2013 at 12:57 pm #

      To be honest, I know that little about football/soccer that I don’t even know where Olimpia are on the ladder at the moment. I should work on that if I want to call myself a true fan!

      • Saunved April 17, 2013 at 12:58 pm #

        Ah well…in the long run, it doesn’t matter, but yes…t seems that you have to do your homework! 😀

      • Kevin April 17, 2013 at 3:59 pm #

        You picked a winner. Olimpia sits in first place right now. And they seem to have fans everywhere you go in Honduras. …. I enjoy your blog.

      • honduranhiatus April 17, 2013 at 4:19 pm #

        First place! I’m on to a good thing then. 🙂 I’d love to get to a game some time before I leave.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The photos in my mind | Honduran hiatus - May 24, 2013

    […] here in Honduras. I’ve come across many interesting and fascinating sights, even in poor old ‘dreary’ […]

Talk to me!

