Fun with boats and mud

12 Apr

“There is an eagle in me that wants to soar, and there is a hippopotamus in me that wants to wallow in the mud.”

~ Carl Sandburg

Raise your hand if you’ve ever been bogged in a FWD?

How about in an airboat?

*raises hand*

Yup, yours truly can proudly lay claim to being bogged in an airboat. We certainly got value for money when we went on a supposedly 30-minute tour of the marshlands surrounding Lago de Yojoa.

We were out there among the water fowl and the lily pads for an unexpected extra 45 minutes, maybe more. Which is kinda funny, seeing as we weren’t even meant to be at LakeYojoa.

Our weekend started off on Friday with my host-mum and me heading off on a three-day trip to Tela so I could see the famous Caribbean beaches on the Northern coast of Honduras.

On the Map below, I’ve marked both Tela and Logo de Yojoa with a red box.

Honduras map

So how did I end up stuck in wetlands in the middle of Lake Yojoa when I was meant to be sunbathing by the seaside?

This is how:

Wet, wet, wet

Wet, wet, wet

Not exactly the sunny, tropical paradise we were hoping for. It was raining in Tela when we arrived late Friday evening, and it continued all the through the night, and all through the day on Saturday.

Apparently it’s unheard of to rain like this in April as we’re well and truly in the dry season.

The unseasonable rainy weather really put a dampener on our beach plans. By Saturday afternoon we decided that it wasn’t worth staying another night so, after a delicious lunch of coconut crumbed prawns, we made our way back south to San Pedro Sula.

SPS, also known as the world’s most dangerous city, didn’t actually appear that scary. We stayed at my host-uncle’s house and went to the movies at a mall so I guess I didn’t really go anywhere that was going to expose me to its criminal underbelly.

I kept an eye out for “I survived SPS” t-shirts, but unfortunately didn’t see any. I think they would make a cool souvenir. Probably won’t help boost tourism numbers though.

Speaking of tourism numbers, I had to laugh when I read a news article about tourism in Tegucigalpa the other day. The article proudly proclaimed that during Semana Santa there were dozens of international tourists that visited the city centre.

Not hundreds, not thousands, not hundreds of thousand but dozens of tourists! You know you’re not a tourism hot spot when having less than 50 people visit is cause for a news article. Poor old Tegus.

Anyhow, I digress.

Sunday morning saw us back on the road to Tegus, which involves driving past (actual) popular tourist spot Lago de Yojoa. We decided to make the most of our road trip and stopped in at Hotel y Finca “Las Glorias” to have lunch and explore the lake.

Lago de Yojoa is famous for its fried fish. Even in Tegus (150kms away from the lake) you can find restaurants with large sign out front offering fried fish al estilo lago de yojoa. So I was pretty excited to finally get to try this local delicacy.

Here’s a before and after shot:

Pescado frito

As you can see, when they say fried fish, they mean fried fish. All of it. I’m not sure if you’re meant to eat the head too, but I left mine on the plate.

We then headed out on a sedate cruise of the lake. It was super pleasant being out on the water and relaxing in the sunshine. I’ve thrown together a little photo gallery of some of the gorgeous lake  views.

After our cruise we decided to go for a change of pace and boarded the airboat for rapid tour of the nearby wetlands. My host-mum had mentioned that part of the fun was watching all the ducks take flight as the boat approached, however unfortunately our driver was a bit of an idiot.

He didn’t slow down for the ducks so I spent half the time tensing up as I was sure we were going to hit one of the poor, terrified birds. It wasn’t much fun. The idiot then got us bogged. In a big way.

We all ended up having to  disembark and stand in the black mud. Fortunately a local hero named Joel, in an old wooden and rickety row boat came and saved the day. With his help the airboat driver and my host-uncle were able to push the airboat back out into the water and off the mud.

Joel then helped ferry us two-by-two from the mud to the airboat, by wading through at times thigh-high marsh water, dragging the row boat behind him.

The whole fiasco was pretty hilarious. I couldn’t stop grinning.

Having way too much fun being stuck in the mud.

Having way too much fun being stuck in the mud.

We’ve decided that between the lack of sunshine at the beach, getting bogged in the airboat and my subsequent bout of food poisoning once we returned home to Tegus, I really need to do something to improve my travel luck.

Any ideas? Is there some sort of equivalent of a rain dance I can do to improve my travel mojo?

If not I may have to resign myself to staying safely indoors (assuming there’s no more earthquakes) for the rest of my trip!

8 Responses to “Fun with boats and mud”

  1. Bec smyth April 13, 2013 at 3:41 am #

    Loving your posts em. So good to read about your adventures – rain, food posts or paint ball skirmish – all entertaining and great to hear you are getting a lot from it ( minus the tummy bug). Keep posting please !

    • honduranhiatus April 17, 2013 at 12:38 pm #

      Thanks Bec. Glad you’re still following along and enjoying reading about my adventures. I’m having a brilliant time. So happy I decided to turn this dream of mine into a reality. xo

  2. Saunved April 13, 2013 at 12:02 pm #

    Your posts are seriously amazing and the way you describe your experiences is worth noting. Just keep on writing ’cause it gives me some quality reading! 😀

    • honduranhiatus April 17, 2013 at 12:39 pm #

      Thanks! The pressure’s on now. 😉 Glad my little travelogue is keeping you entertained.

  3. Saunved April 14, 2013 at 4:04 pm #

    Hi! I have nominated you for the Liebster Award! Go here for all the information:
    http://saunved.wordpress.com/2013/04/15/award/

    • honduranhiatus April 17, 2013 at 12:42 pm #

      Awww, thank you! That’s so kind of you. Congrats to you to for your nomination. Well-deserved!

      • Saunved April 17, 2013 at 12:42 pm #

        You are welcome! I really love your blog…!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. One year later… | Honduran hiatus - June 11, 2013

    […] families living in extreme poverty …traveled to another country for the love of seafood soup …been bogged in an airboat …celebrated my birthday Mexicatracho style …suffered through the ‘Honduran […]

Talk to me!

