Stairway to trim, taut and terrific

19 Mar

Stairs

They may not look like much to the untrained eye, but these stairs are no ordinary stairs. They are my new secret weapon in the war on rice and beans.

That’s right peoples, I’ve moved beyond the pre-emptive strike stage and am now in full-on battle mode. And these stairs are going to be part of the first line of defence.

I work on the fourth level of the United Nations building. To get from the ground floor (level 1) to my desk I can either take the lift or climb 60 stairs.

Up until today, I’ve been taking the easy option, but that (slightly lazy) decision is causing me to miss out on some great incidental exercise. In the words of fitness guru Michelle Bridges:

“We don’t always think about how incidental exercise can benefit us, but make no mistake – keeping moving can make the difference between maintaining your body weight and having those kilograms sneak their way onto your hips or waistline.”

Despite a drastic and sudden increase of rice, beans, meat and tortillas in my diet, so far, I haven’t gained weight. But, remembering the false sense of security I was lulled into in Brasil . . .

“Hey, it’s been a month and I haven’t put on any weight. How awesome.”

“Hey, it’s been three months and I’ve gained 10 kilos. Well that sucks.”

. . . I’ve decided that I need to up the ante in my quest to not return home looking like the Michelin man.

So, we are gathered here today, in this virtual space, to witness and celebrate Em’s vow to never take the lift, ever again.

I will walk, climb and cherish the stairs, in sickness and in health, for better or worse, forsaking all elevators from this day forward.

If I can lose weight by only taking the stairs while on an ‘all-you-can-eat’ cruise (true story) then surely I can maintain my weight by only taking the stairs at work.

Plan B is signing up to a gym. I’ve been missing my regular workouts so this weekend I went gym shopping with my host-mum.

We’ve found one that’s not too far away from work or home. I’ll use a taxi to get there in the afternoon and then when my host mum finishes work she’ll swing by to drop me home.

If she ends up having to stay back late at work, I’ll have plenty to do as the gym is actually part of a hotel complex. I can swim, read a book by the pool, or hang out at the café or bar. (Just so long as any eating or drinking I do there doesn’t cancel out the exercise I’ve just done upstairs.)

Between the stairs and the gym I’m quietly hopeful that I’ll still be recognisable as I stroll through the arrivals hall at Sydney airport when I return home in August.

Famous last words?

7 Responses to “Stairway to trim, taut and terrific”

  1. Jacqui March 19, 2013 at 2:06 pm #

    Not sure if it’s the same for everyone but I had to giggle at the ad choice at the bottom of your blog ‘it’s true: you can get ripped with these insider’…. Wait for it…. ‘steps’!!! Seems like you are onto a good thing there Em :o)

    • honduranhiatus March 19, 2013 at 2:11 pm #

      I think you only see the ads if you look at the blog via a Facebook link.

      Nice to see Facebook’s ad algorithm is showing its approval though. 🙂

  2. honduranhiatus March 19, 2013 at 2:39 pm #

    Today’s been a good start to my ‘no lift’ vow. After walking up the stairs to my desk, down the stairs to the cafeteria for lunch, and back up the stairs to my desk, we’ve just had a fire drill where I had to walk down the stairs to the ground floor, and then back up the stairs to my desk. When I walk down the stairs to leave the office, that will be a total of 400 stairs!

  3. MB March 19, 2013 at 2:53 pm #

    Love the thinking Em, but “It’s the thought that counts” will need some will-power to maintain the accompanying action. But ………… since I’m also on the 4th floor (and we have one lift out for refurbishment), I’ll match your stair climbing and do the same. Support from home! I’ll be sending Vegemite next!

    • honduranhiatus March 19, 2013 at 2:56 pm #

      We can start our very own ‘International Stair Climbing Support Group’! I’ll be President. You can be VP.

      Anyone else back home keen to join the Canberra Chapter? Stairs ahoy!

  4. green smoke e cig July 13, 2013 at 1:01 am #

    Tremendous issues here. I am very satisfied to see your post.
    Thank you so much and I am having a look ahead to touch you.
    Will you please drop me a e-mail?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A pre-emptive strike: Final verdict | Honduran hiatus - June 27, 2013

    […] Stairway to trim, taut and terrific […]

Talk to me!

