Visa trip: A destination poll

28 Feb

When I arrived in Honduras I was granted a 90-day tourist visa. AFS participants on the semester volunteer abroad program then have two options:

apply for a special permission of permanence from the Honduran migration office
renew their 90-day tourist visa by travelling to another country for at least three days.

It probably comes as no surprise that the majority of participants are drawn to option number two. Who wouldn’t want to take a short break and explore another country?

The only complicating factor is that, due to a recent change in legislation, travelling to one of the “CA-4” countries doesn’t count. The countries that form the CA-4 group along with Honduras are El Salvador, Guatemala, and Nicaragua.

This means we need to travel further afield to perhaps Belize, Costa Rica, Panama, Mexico or any of the Caribbean islands. Which leaves me facing the delightful dilemma of ‘where in the world should I travel to for my visa trip?’ The suggested dates we were given to undertake the trip are from Monday 13 May to Thursday 16 May.

The last two groups of AFS volunteers went to Belize and Costa Rica respectively. Belize doesn’t interest me quite so much as it’s an English-speaking country. I’ve heard great things about Costa Rica although I also imagine that seeing the Panama Canal could be a really interesting experience.

My host mum tells me that the cheapest flights are to Miami, however I’d need to look into how an Aussie in Honduras obtains a US Visa. I’d love to go to Cuba. I think it would be an amazing trip and is definitely on my bucket list. Although the Dominican Republic is meant to be a fun place to visit too…

Decisions, decisions, decisions…

To help me make up my mind I’ve decided to run a poll.

I’d love to see your suggestions and recommendations in the comments.

Needless to say, the results of the poll won’t be binding (although that could have been a fun experiment if I were brave enough) but I am curious to see what everyone thinks.

Talk to me!

