Let sleeping dogs lie

26 Feb

“I believe in integrity. Dogs have it. Humans are sometimes lacking it.”

~ Cesar Millan (The Dog Whisperer)

In contrast to the warm welcome my host family gave me the welcome I received from my host dogs was positively frosty. In fact, you could almost say that I was quite unwelcome as far as the dogs were concerned.

Apparently they take a little while to warm up to new people, so the best thing to do was to let them get accustomed to me at their own pace. This naturally made making friends with the dogs the first ‘project’ undertaken during my Honduran experience.

20130226-221244.jpg

Casey

Casey was the first to be charmed. Which is amusing because she’s the one that makes the most racket when someone arrives at the house. She has a shrill yap and won’t stop barking until she knows who or what is at the door. It only took me about an hour to get her onside. She loves being petted.

20130226-221510.jpg

Kalua

Kalua surprise me as being the next dog to warm up to me. Out of the three she’s the one that struck me as being the fiercest. But it only took a couple of hours on Friday morning for her to get comfortable enough with me for her to let me pat her. She is a solid little lump of a dog. I love her funny roly-poly skin.

Both Casey and Kalua will now come over to me if I call them and let me give them pats.

20130226-221702.jpg

Lassie

Lassie is the hold out. From the start she was much more wary of me than the other two and still seems to eye me with distrust. I’ve managed to pat her a couple of times, but she only seems to just tolerate it, not enjoy it like the other two. And the last time I petted her she got sick of it after about 20 seconds and gave me a hell of a warning snarl! It certainly gave me a fright.

I’ll keep working on her slowly and hopefully we’ll become friends. None of the dogs react to my presence by barking anymore and even Lassie seems comfortable enough to chill out in the same room as me. Just so long as I don’t speak to her, touch her or look at her!

5 Responses to “Let sleeping dogs lie”

  1. Brett March 23, 2013 at 2:00 pm #

    It’s uncanny how much lasie reminds me of Jodi at the moment! Especially the last paragraph.

    • honduranhiatus March 23, 2013 at 2:05 pm #

      Brett! Did you just compare your lovely and heavily pregnant wife to a dog? Tsk tsk. You’ll be sleeping with Scout in the backyard tonight!

  2. Andrea April 29, 2013 at 12:36 pm #

    I’m so glad you get along with my dogs and i’ve heard that they love you 😀 And i love your blog it’s really good i’m now addicted to reading all your post 😉

    • honduranhiatus May 2, 2013 at 11:53 am #

      It’s nice to be able to have some puppy cuddles. It makes me miss my dad’s dog (Kipper) a bit less. Even Lassie is my friend now and will let me pet her. 🙂

      Glad you like the blog. It must be interesting or even a bit odd to read an outsider’s thoughts about your family/city/country.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Men: Let Sleeping Dogs Lie | Wilder Man On Rolling Creek - March 10, 2013

    […] Let sleeping dogs lie (honduranhiatus.wordpress.com) […]

Talk to me!

