A pre-emptive strike: Final update

8 Feb

“Motivation is what gets you started. Habit is what keeps you going.”

~ Jim Rohn

It seems like only yesterday I declared my intention of waging a pre-emptive strike against rice and beans however, after 18 weeks of trying to get healthier and happier, I had my final assessment at the gym on Thursday.

And there’s good news! All measurements had decreased and both my trainer and I were chuffed with what I’ve managed to achieve over a relatively short space of time.

During the last four and half months I have:

  • lost a total of 6.2 kilos
  • reduced my waist measurement by 11cm (this has meant dropping a dress size)
  • decreased my average skinfold measurement by 6.25mm (which didn’t sound like a lot to me, but according to my trainer this is a fair effort)
  • increased my bicep measurements (there’s actually a tiny bit of muscle there!)
  • not lost any lower thigh muscle.*

In essence I’ve lost weight where I needed and gained weight where I needed. Less fat, more muscle. Winner, winner, chicken dinner.

*Not losing any lower thigh muscle is particularly important with my dodgy knees. My program at the gym is designed to help me strengthen and maintain muscles that support the knee. I went to the physio this week and she was impressed with my ‘quad bulk’.

My next challenge is to maintain this level of muscle strength throughout my time in Honduras, so that when I visit Machu Picchu I don’t conk out halfway through.

And of course the big questions remain: Have I lost enough weight that it will offset the extra padding I expect to acquire while in Honduras? Will I suffer from Another Fat Student (AFS) syndrome? Can I continue my healthy eating habits while travelling?

Stay tuned to find out the answers to all these important questions and more. 🙂

Related posts:

A pre-emptive strike on rice and beans

A pre-emptive strike: Update 1

A pre-emptive strike: Update 2

2 Responses to “A pre-emptive strike: Final update”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Stairway to trim, taut and terrific | Honduran hiatus - March 19, 2013

    […] right peoples, I’ve moved beyond the pre-emptive strike stage and am now in full-on battle mode. And these stairs are going to be part of the first line of […]

  2. A pre-emptive strike: Final verdict | Honduran hiatus - June 27, 2013

    […] A pre-emptive strike: Final update […]

Talk to me!

