CPO, you had me at hello

28 Jan

“UNICEF trabaja en Honduras sobre la base de un Programa de Cooperación que firmó con el gobierno de la República a finales de 2011 y que se elaboró de acuerdo a la situación de la infancia en el país centroamericano..”

~ UNICEF Honduras website

I’ve been barely able to contain my excitement since receiving my full AFS Community Project Organisation (CPO) details the other week. I’ve known for a little while now that I’ll be volunteering with UNICEF Honduras, I just wasn’t sure in what capacity.

I now know that I will be working with their communication team to support their advocacy and social communication program. The main objectives of this program are to promote children’s rights and to develop communication strategies.

The role will involve office work as well as occasional fieldwork on weekends, where I imagine I’ll be able to see UNICEF’s projects in action. This will be a great way for me to learn about the challenges the country faces and also see a side of Honduras I probably wouldn’t get to explore as a tourist.

The type of work I will be expected to assist with could include tasks such as conducting training, developing communication materials, and supporting virtual networks. I found my supervisor’s UNICEF profile online and I’m really happy that I’ll have the opportunity to work with someone so experienced. I definitely think I’m going to learn a lot.

I’ve deliberately tried to keep my existing work world and the blogosphere separate, however it’s worth noting here that I currently work as a communication and media officer. So to say that the CPO I’ve been assigned to suits me to a T, would be a slight understatement. Hello dream job!

I’m excited about the placement but also a little nervous. I think I’ve got the skills and qualifications to be an enthusiastic and productive volunteer; I just hope I can live up to any expectations the team might have. Wish me luck!

 

2 Responses to “CPO, you had me at hello”

  1. Netty Aylward January 29, 2013 at 5:51 am #

    You will be brilliant. Am really enjoying hearing about your plans. Keep up the news

    • honduranhiatus January 29, 2013 at 10:48 pm #

      Thanks Netty. I’m keen to use the blog as a record of my trip preparations as well as the trip itself, so depending on internet access, there will definitely be more news to come. Watch this space. 🙂

Talk to me!

