The countdown approacheth the pointy end

27 Jan

“Never put off for tomorrow, what you can do today.”

~ Thomas Jefferson

My ‘public’ countdown started at 99 more sleeps, however I started my ‘private’ countdown at 175 sleeps to go. I didn’t want people to think I was too much of a keen bean, so I waited until I was only looking at double digits before making any overt countdown announcements

At 17 more sleeps, we’re now starting to get down to the wire and my ‘must-get-organised-NOW’ instincts are really starting to kick in.

I’ve spent most of the weekend methodically working through a ‘to do’ list longer than my arm. I’ve banned myself from all social activities so I can focus on getting organised for my trip.

This was a big call to make on the Australia Day long weekend, where BBQs, parties and other AusDay events are a dime a dozen, but it’s only Sunday night and already know I made the right call. As I cross off each item on my ‘to do’ list I can practically feel another knot in my neck and shoulder muscles unkink itself.

My beloved little blog has been a bit neglected of late, although that hasn’t stopped me from writing multiple posts in my head. It’s getting crowded in there! I’m hoping to set aside a little time each night over the next week to get them down on paper, so to speak.

In the meantime, here’s a video of what I imagine I may also be like (just hopefully not quite so extreme) if I get to see a sloth in Honduras:

(Thanks to Carole for pointing me in the direction of this video. Love it!)

2 Responses to “The countdown approacheth the pointy end”

  1. Bec smyth January 27, 2013 at 9:18 pm #

    Wishing you all the best for your trip Em. I look forward to reading all about it. So excited for you. Bec

    • honduranhiatus January 28, 2013 at 8:17 am #

      Thanks Bec! I can’t wait to hop on that plane and start my big adventure. Exciting and challenging times ahead. 🙂 Hope all is well with you. xo

Talk to me!

