A pre-emptive strike: Update 1

19 Nov

“It would be far easier to lose weight permanently if replacement parts weren’t so handy in the refrigerator.”

~ Hugh Allen

Those playing along at home may recall my post ‘A pre-emptive strike on rice and beans’ in which I set out my plan to lose weight before my big trip overseas next year.

I intimated that if I got some positive results, you’d hear from me again. But if I didn’t achieve anything, I’d just pretend like I’d never publicly declared I was going to work on my diet and fitness.

Well, the good news is that my revitalised health routine has been working. I had my end-of-program assessment at the gym today and I was very happy with the results: I’m now 2.8 kilos lighter and I’ve lost 2–6cms off all my body measurements. Go me!

I still have a way to go but at least I’m moving in the right direction. Although the biggest benefit I’ve encountered has been how good I feel on a day-to-day basis. I’ve started craving healthy foods as opposed to junk food, and those exercise-related ‘happy’ endorphins are really starting to kick in.

Admittedly, my routine is exhausting (dragon boating 2–3 times a week, personal training 3–4 times a week, Krav Maga practice 2–3 times a week) but at least I’m seeing results, so it feels worth it! I’m also sleeping amazingly well at night.

I have just enough time to squeeze in another 12-week program at the gym before leave for Honduras, so hopefully my progress will continue and I’ll be able to give another positive update in a few weeks’ time.

3 Responses to “A pre-emptive strike: Update 1”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A pre-emptive strike: Update 2 « Honduran hiatus - January 4, 2013

    […] my protein intake (because of the amount of exercise I’m […]

  2. A pre-emptive strike: Final update « Honduran hiatus - February 8, 2013

    […] A pre-emptive strike: Update 1 […]

  3. A pre-emptive strike: Final verdict | Honduran hiatus - June 27, 2013

    […] A pre-emptive strike: Update 1 […]

Talk to me!

