Kicking ass and saving lives

11 Nov

“Krav Maga will give you the self-confidence to know that you can handle yourself in a wide variety of situations in the real world.”

~ Krav Maga Canberra

As mentioned previously, Honduras can be considered a very dangerous country. In a recent article about the most dangerous cities in the world, Honduras had two in the top ten.

Tegucigalpa, the capital, came in at number five, and San Pedro Sula was ranked as the number one most dangerous city.

With this in mind, I thought that learning some self-defence moves before heading overseas would be prudent. After doing a little research I decided that Krav Maga would be the best option. Vic was keen too so we have both signed up to a 7-week run of private lessons before the Christmas break.

Krav Maga (which rhymes with crab papá) is a self-defence system developed in Israel and used by law enforcement agencies and militaries all over the world. When taught to civilians Krav Maga has a strong focus on practical self-defence, as well as developing situational awareness.

We had our first lesson on Thursday and it’s tough! I certainly need to keep working on my fitness and strength. The fitter and stronger you are the better you’re able to defend yourself.

You also need to have excellent coordination, and it turns out that boxercise does not train you how to strike properly. I think Vic and I both felt a little out of our depth, but with extra practice between our lessons, this should improve.

We’ve decided to meet up twice a week to work on our technique. I’ve already nearly elbowed Vic in the head, so I definitely have room to improve there!

While the title of this post may be a little flippant, I am taking these lessons seriously and I’m determined to learn as much as I can over the next few weeks. Our instructor is excellent; hopefully I’ll be able to become reasonably proficient even though I don’t have a lot of time.

“No matter what you do, it pays to have first aid skills because you can’t learn it in an emergency.”

~ St John Ambulance Australia

Honduras has a fairly limited health care system, and it’s been many years since I’ve been on a first aid course, so another item on my trip preparations ‘to do’ list was to refresh my qualifications. Plus, overseas trip or not, I’m a firm believer that everyone should learn first aid and maintain these skills.

I’ve been a bit naughty in letting my credentials lapse for so long, but I’m pleased to say that on Sunday 28 October, I successfully completed the ‘Apply First Aid’ course through St John Ambulance Australia.

There’s also a ‘Remote Area First Aid’ course that St John runs. Depending on what location I’m assigned to in Honduras (I’m still waiting to find this out) I may look into completing this course too.

I don’t think you can ever be too prepared when it comes to first aid, or self-defence for that matter. Give it a few weeks and if you try to mess with me, I’ll be able to kick your ass. But don’t worry; I’ll be able to patch you back up afterwards!

Talk to me!

