South America or bust!

7 Nov

“You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself any direction you choose. You’re on your own. And you know what you know. And YOU are the one who’ll decide where to go…”
~ Dr. Seuss

Over the past few weeks Vic and I have been researching trip options with gusto. Vic being the BFF I  mentioned earlier who is joining me for the backpacking segment of my big adventure.

During one of the first (of many) times we have caught up to discuss the trip, she bought the Peru Lonely Planet guide and I bought the one for Ecuador. We then went through and highlighted the places we’d like to go in our respective books before swapping and repeating the process.

(There was some momentary confusion about what our highlighting protocol should be, but we quickly moved past that and got on with the job of planning the trip of a lifetime!)

Vic and I both have similar approaches to travel, in that we would prefer to spend a little bit longer in fewer locations, rather than rush from place to place.

As tempting as it is to keep adding and adding to our itinerary, we have settled on spending nearly two weeks in Ecuador, one week in the Galapagos Islands, a little more than two weeks in Peru, and then, following a tour of the Iguassu Falls, heading to Rio de Janeiro for a couple of days.

It’s there we will say our goodbyes and Vic will continue on to Europe. I will spend the next week visiting my Brazilian host family, and then it will be time for me to head back home to Australia.

I’ll also be spending a week in Mexico on my way to Honduras so that I can catch up with friends in Puebla. All up I’m looking at about eight weeks of independent travel before and after my AFS Volunteer Abroad program.

This is a little more than the two weeks I had originally envisioned, but I’ve never been one to do things by halves. In for a penny, in for a pound. Or in for eleventy-one million pajillion pounds as it may be in this case!

But a trip like this is worth every penny. I am incredibly excited about all the wonderful adventures I’m sure Vic and I will have together.

I think we’ll make great travel companions. We’ve worked and lived together previously and, while some may disagree, I’d say we’re both pretty easy going. If there are any differences of opinion I’m sure we’ll be able to sort them out without resorting to professional mediation.

Em and Vic

Look at those happy faces. They would never get tired and grumpy with each other. Right, Vic?  😉

2 Responses to “South America or bust!”

  1. Vic formerly known as BFF November 8, 2012 at 8:14 am #

    That’s right Em. Who can be grumpy when they’re exploring the world, having adventures, ocassionally getting lost and making life long memories?
    I’ll just remember to always have water and a snack. With that I can be cheerful in any situation.
    Bring on the unexpected, surprising and challenging travel tales.
    I’ll be sure to pack a spare set of highlighters too.

    • honduranhiatus June 11, 2013 at 2:57 pm #

      Not long to go now. I feel like I wrote this post a lifetime ago, but in less than a month I’ll be seeing your happy face. Woot!

Talk to me!

