The ever-expanding itinerary

14 Oct

“I haven’t been everywhere, but it’s on my list.”

~ Susan Sontag

At first glance, you may not realise it, but I am currently sitting on a throne, a world of possibilities at my feet.

A veritable plethora of travel plans, destinations, itineraries, locations, and journeys. Every time I think about it, I feel a little giddy thrill of excitement.

I’m in that wonderful phase of having made up my mind to travel, but not yet having made any bookings.

After my 5 months in Honduras, I have about 6­­–8 weeks free before I need to return home to my job in Australia.

I initially started out with the idea of one week in Mexico to catch up with friends and two weeks in Brazil to catch up with my Brazilian host family.

But then, when thinking about how close I’d be to Ecuador, I decided that I really should try to arrange a visit to my World Vision sponsor child’s community.

And then if I’m going to be in Ecuador I can’t miss out on going to the Galapagos Islands, right?

One of my BFFs mentioned that she would like to come travelling with me too, so all of a sudden, not only do I have travel plans, I also have a travel buddy. Awesome!

And when she mentioned she’d love to go to Peru and see Machu Picchu, well, that sounds like a great idea. Add it to the list!

Before this little backpacking trip of mine becomes bigger than Ben Hur, there are a couple of hurdles to cross. I need to make sure I get approval from AFS to travel both before and after my volunteer program, and I need to make sure I can afford all these little extra journeys on which I’d like to embark.

But for now, I’m sitting on my throne, surveying my kingdom of possibilities, and they stretch as far as the eye can see.

This makes me incredibly happy, and yes, maybe a little smug, but let’s blame that on my over-excitement about the trip.   😉

4 Responses to “The ever-expanding itinerary”

  1. Aic3la October 15, 2012 at 1:44 am #

    I love the view from the throne of possibilities!!

    • honduranhiatus October 15, 2012 at 7:10 am #

      🙂 It’s a good spot to be. In some ways the planning phase is almost as exciting as the trip itself.

  2. Bani Amor October 15, 2012 at 5:20 am #

    Haha, I used the same Susan Sontag quote on my site too the other week. Ecuador is a must.

    • honduranhiatus October 15, 2012 at 7:15 am #

      I’ll have to browse through the Ecuador archives on your blog. You have some stunning photos! Any locations you consider ‘must-sees’ in Ecuador?

Talk to me!

