To date or not to date, that is the question

8 Oct

“Whenever I want a really nice meal, I start dating again.”

~ Susan Healy

There’s a theory that the time it takes to mend a broken heart is one month of misery for each year you were together.

I did the maths and a three-year, five-month relationship equates to 3 months and 17 days of misery. This means that, now we’re past 24 September 2012, happy days are here again. 🙂

I actually went out and had a party to celebrate, starting with dinner at the most perfectly named venue: Happy’s Chinese Restaurant.

The happiest restaurant in Canberra. (Photo courtesy of http://www.happys.com.au)

Now that I’m meant to be ‘officially’ over it, I’m debating whether or not I should start dating again. I made a pros and cons list but, in a wonderful display of circular logic, most of my pros were the same as my cons.

Case in point:

Pro: I might meet the man of my dreams and fall wildly in love.
This is obviously a good thing. This, apart from the really nice meals, is why we date.

Con: I might meet the man of my dreams and fall wildly in love.
I’m leaving the country for 6 months in February, and long-distance relationships don’t particularly appeal to me. Meeting TMOMD now could become quite complicated and would probably be considered bad timing.

Pro: I might not meet anyone I’m interested in or who is interested in me.
As per the above, I’m heading overseas soon, so not meeting TMOMD is probably a good thing. And this could be a good chance to ‘filter’. Dating is a numbers game, so the more unsuccessful dates I go on, the more likely TMOMD will then be just around the corner. Right?

Con: I might not meet anyone I’m interested in or who is interested in me.
The purpose of dating is to meet someone, so not meeting anyone could be quite demoralizing. If I end up with nothing to show for my efforts except for some new bad date stories to add to my repertoire, any time spent dating could probably have been better spent preparing for my trip.

See what I mean? It’s a conundrum. What’s a girl to do?

To help solve my little dating dilemma, I’ve decided to run a poll. What do you think, yea or nay?

 

If you have any sage words of wisdom or some brilliant dating advice, feel free to share your thoughts in the comments.

(Ok, so I just wanted to practice making polls in WordPress, but I figure this topic is as good as any!)

2 Responses to “To date or not to date, that is the question”

  1. Aic3la October 15, 2012 at 1:47 am #

    I think there should be another option called ‘Go with the Flow’!! You can’t waste time with what if’s but if a man offers you food at a restaurant your suitcase shouldn’t stop you from going!! Just leave it a ‘BRB’ post- it n enjoy your life! A part of me wants to sit down and think about what i plan for my future but the size of the paper scares me n i go out n buy cupcakes to make me feel better!! 😀

    • honduranhiatus October 15, 2012 at 7:20 am #

      Cupcakes are the solution to many of the worlds problems! I think going with the flow is a good idea, if not a little difficult for someone like me that tends to over-think things. I think my new motto will be: if a man offers you food at a restaurant your suitcase shouldn’t stop you from going. 🙂

Talk to me!

