Where in the world is Honduras?

15 Sep

“The cool thing about being famous is traveling. I have always wanted to travel across seas, like to Canada and stuff.”

~ Britney Spears

The main response I’ve been getting when telling people that I’m heading off to Honduras, is a quizzical look and the question: “remind me again exactly where that is?”

For those not in the know Honduras is in Central America. That’s the skinny connector bit between North and South America. The isthmus to be precise. Isthmus. I do like that word.

Map of Central America courtesy of worldatlas.com

As you can see on the map, Honduras shares borders with Guatelmala, El Salvador and Nicaragua. It also has coastline on both the Caribbean Sea and the Pacific Ocean.

¿Por qué Honduras?

When submitting my application, because I’m a grand old lady of 30 years, my (Spanish-speaking) country options were limited to Ecuador, Guatemala, Honduras, Argentina and Mexico.

As I’ve already been to both Mexico and Argentina (albeit briefly) they moved lower down my list of preferences leaving Ecuador, Guatemala and Honduras as the front-runners.

I originally nominated Ecuador as my first host country preference because I have been sponsoring a child from Ecuador (through World Vision) for the last three and a half years. I really liked the idea of travelling to Ecuador and helping out another Ecuadorian community directly.

However, I soon found out that Ecuador won’t be running the community service program next year. Jason, the AFS Sending Coordinator, had heard great things about the program in Honduras, so that’s where we submitted my application.

I was very excited to receive advice last week that I have been guaranteed a spot on the Honduras program. Look out Honduras, here I come!

Talk to me!

