Seeing the world with purpose

12 Sep

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines, sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”

~ Mark Twain

When I was 17, I spent a year in Brazil on an AFS high school exchange. Not only was it the trip of a lifetime (I could write a whole other blog about the amazing time I had) but it also gave me the travel bug. Big time.

In 2005, when the opportunity presented itself to do a university exchange to Mexico I grabbed it with both hands. Once again I was blessed with a fantastic trip, but that travel bug is an itchy thing, and as soon as I was back home I started looking for the next adventure.

When I first realized that AFS also ran 18+ Volunteer Abroad programs, about 5 or 6 years ago now, I immediately had my heart set on completing one some day. The idea of working on a project that would benefit the community I was living in was really exciting. I’ve done volunteer work previously, including in Brazil while on exchange, and found this to be very gratifying.

I had initially planned on completing one of the Volunteer Abroad programs in 2007 or 2008 but, as with the best laid plans of mice and men, life got in the way and the trip never eventuated.

In June this year I suddenly became single again and ‘temporarily’ relocated to my dad’s house. (Thanks dad!) With no partner, no kids, no lease, no mortgage, and all my worldly possessions neatly packed up in boxes, I realized that if I was ever going to seize the moment and do this, now was the time!

So here I am. Getting ready to set off on what will hopefully be another fantastic overseas experience. I’m thrilled that on this trip I’ll be able to combine two passions of mine: travel and volunteer work. The idea of ‘seeing the world with purpose’ is a philosophy that very much appeals to me.

I’m not 100% sure exactly what sort of project I’ll be working on, or where I’ll be living yet, but as soon as I have those details I’ll update the blog.

More info on AFS Volunteer Abroad programs can be found here.

One Response to “Seeing the world with purpose”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. One year later… | Honduran hiatus - June 11, 2013

    […] I’ve written previously, with no partner, no kids, no pets, no lease, no mortgage, and all my worldly possessions neatly […]

Talk to me!